Proposal

UAL Awarding Body – Level 3 Extended Diplomauallogo

Unit 8 – Developing a Creative Media Project 

FMP – The Proposal    

Assessment Criteria U8:1.1

Centre Name & NumberThe Sheffield College
Candidate NameLaura Altman
Candidate Number266314
PathwayTV & Film
Project TitleTV Ad – (Steel CiTEA tea)
Section 1: Rationale (Approx 100 words)
This ad should exist because the idea is unique and interesting and will catch people’s attention, so will promote the product well. The ad will communicate  that tea is still fun and can be enjoyed by all ages especially 18-24. The ad will appeal to the intended audience of people aged 18-24 because it is a funny idea which is what people that age look for the most in an ad. Making this ad will give me the chance to showcase everything I have learnt this year and will give me the chance to develop my skills in composition and editing. I will push myself by trying out some new camera work techniques and editing techniques. 
Section 2: Project Concept (Approx 200 words)
The story of my project is that there are two friends hanging out together and friend 1 offers friend 2 some tea and they say yes, then to make the tea friend 1 pulls out what looks like a chemistry set and starts making the tea in the chemistry set whilst the other friend watches looking confused, then friend 2 gets rid of the chemistry set by smashing it off the table and replaces it with just a simple kettle and Steel CiTEA tea, showing their friend how to make tea properly. The aim of this project is to make an ad that appeals to people aged 18-24 and my ad does this by using humour. I will be completing research of different production techniques so that the quality of my ad is the best it can be.  The resources I will need to make my ad are some props that I will be able to either make or buy and the camera and sound equipment that I will either be able to use my phone for or get the equipment from college. I will use feedback that I get from my peers and tutors throughout the production of my ad so that I can be sure that my ad is the best quality it can be. The style of my ad will be cool and young. I will use interesting camera shots like a shot through a piece of equipment at friend 2s face and have some moving shots. I will have fast paced editing so that it is interesting and energetic. I will use some upbeat music that is on trend at the moment.
Section 3: Evaluation (Approx 150 words)


I will reflect on my work throughout all stages of creating this ad by completing a reflective journal, this will allow my to analyse and improve on what I have done because I will be able to routinely look back on what I have done and be able to evaluate to see if there’s anything I could improve and whilst still having the chance to improve on it. I will also be able to get feedback from my peers and my tutors so that I can get a second opinion on my work to make sure it is reaching a high standard. At the end of my project when I have completed my ad I will also be writing an evaluation where I can go into detail about what I have dont how how successful each part was and my project as a whole. 
Section 4: Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)

The first research source I used was looking at existing ad and evaluating them: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cipMoGKXGE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PE8gVb6DrAw 
Some topics I’m considering researching are using lighting to make it look like the tea box is glowing, using multiple shots in one scene and mic placement when two people are having a conversation. 

Leave a comment