Analyse your skill set and interests

Career Intentions/Progression Goals

In the future I would like to work in the film industry. My main goal would be to become a Director however I am also interested in other jobs like a Director of Photography or Gaffer. I would like these jobs because they are involved with the creative and visual sides of filmmaking which I find interesting and is something I would like to pursue.

Skills Skills AcquiredRate 1 to 5 1= poor 5= excellentWhy? How can you evidence this based on your work.How did these skills contribute to the creation of a product?
Being able to work or keep to a plan
(working to a filming schedule, working out timings for recording days)
3I got everything done on time but didn’t always stick to the schedule I made at the start. For example I completed all my projects fully within the time frame.These skills contributed to the creation of everything I made last year because it meant I was able to complete them all.
Finding suitable locations to film
(how and why you used locations in your filming)
5All the locations I used were suitable and had what I needed in them. For example when filming my ad I needed to film it in a setting that made sense with the storyline, so filming it in a kitchen was best.This allowed me to complete the projects to a higher standard because I made sure that the locations were suitable for the project.
Being able to communicate effectively
(e.g. directing your crew, communicating with cast and location)
3I rate myself a 3 because I was able to communicate quite well with my cast and crew, enough to be able to get what I was trying to achieve. However I feel like I could improve in this area by being more clear with my instructions. This will mean I’m able to get a closer outcome to what I wanted.By having these skills I am able to make sure that the people in my cast and crew are doing what I want and creating the project to my standards in the way that I want it.
Being good at problem solving
(e.g. how you deal with issues on filming days)
4I give myself a 4 for this because I think that I am good at problem solving and can come up with solutions quite easily. For example when filming my ad there were issues with the framing which I was able to adjust to and solve whilst filming.This is a key skill because it means that no matter what goes wrong you can figure out a way to work it out and make sure that you still get the result you wanted.
Research
(e.g. inspiration for your own work from others)
3I give myself a 3 for research because I felt that my research was successful however I feel it could be more detailed and go deeper. My evidence is my research.Being able to research well is a good skill because it means that your final product will be more professional and fit in with other similar products.
Camerawork3I give myself a 3 in camerawork because I think my camerawork is pretty good but could be improved by trying more different types of shots and just being more adventurous with the shot type and not afraid to use movement. For example in my ad I could have used more extreme closeups and wider shots rather than just MCUs. This has contributed to all my projects because without good camerawork the project would look unprofessional and would be not fun to watch.
Audio recording3I gave myself a 3 for audio recording because I think that my audio recording was to quite a high standard. However I had issues with the volume of some of my audio recordings and feel there are places I can improve on it.This skill contributes to all my projects because by having good quality audio it makes the project more enjoyable to watch and seem more professional.
Editing3I gave myself a 3 for editing because I think that my editing is quite good but it’s pretty simple and I think that more advanced editing would improve my projects. For example by improving on my editing I can create more interesting transitions which will be more interesting to watch. This skill contributes to my projects because without it they would all be a mess and wouldn’t make sense or be as interesting to watch. And by using more interesting editing techniques it makes the project look more professional and more interesting. 
Creativity
(development of your ideas and taking them from ideas to a project)
4I gave myself a 4 for this because I think that my creativity is good, I come up with unique ideas and can take them from idea to finished project efficiently. For example my doc was a unique and creative idea which was  funny and enjoyable to watch.This skill contributes to my work because it makes my projects stand out from the others and makes them more fun and enjoyable to watch as well as being memorable.

Skills needed for Jobs:

Director

Leadership: They need to be able to lead the production and make sure everything is running smoothly.

Imagination: They need to have good imaginations because they have to envisage the whole film and have it be creative and unique.

Arts Knowledge: They need to be familiar with all genres of film as well as other types of art so that they can take inspiration from everywhere.

Production: They need to have creative and technical knowledge of all the processes involved in making the film from start to finish.

Staying Calm Under Pressure: They need to be able to keep a level head in all situations and be able to problem solve on the spot.

This is the job I want which is a Producer for a Film Team in Manchester. To apply for this job I will need to make a creative CV and a showreel.

2 thoughts on “Analyse your skill set and interests

  1. Start this post by setting out your career intentions or progression goals. What career or job in fim would you like or what course do you hope to progress on to?

    Then, find a course, live job or job profile from screenskills.com and make a list of the key skills required for it.

    Like

Leave a comment