Evaluations

I believe that the show achieved what it set out to achieve. This is because the aim was to make a show that would appeal to people aged 16-24 who game a lot and are interested in things to do with gaming. And the show fits that well by containing lots of interesting information about gaming whilst also being fun and entertaining which appeals to a younger audience. It appeals to our target audience because young people prefer shows that are exciting as well as informative, and our show fits this because it involves playing games during the show as well as lots of informative stuff about gaming like the indie games review. The show could appeal to the target audience better if it was more organised and timed better so that none of the sections ran over meaning that we didn’t finish in time. This would improve the show because it would keep the audience’s attention better and would have had more subjects talked about which will add to the interest of the audience. Also I believe many of the sections could have been shortened a lot which was an issue with time management and having too many ideas. Another way the show could have improved is if there was a cohesive script, we needed someone to go through the whole script and make it flow from one section to the next rather than the disjointed segments that didn’t flow into each other. 

I have learnt that working in a team is difficult and that unless someone takes charge and is a good leader things don’t run smoothly and work doesn’t get done. Although I could have put more effort into this production, I believe it wouldn’t have made much of a difference because the team weren’t interested in listening to alternate ideas and there wasn’t much effort from other members of the group as well. 

One practical skill I have developed is camerawork. I was a camera operator for SumSkate which allowed me to improve my skills by getting interesting shots during the filming. For example at 17:03 I had a closeup shot of the presenter standing up. This was effective because it meant the Director was able to cut between a closeup shot of the presenter as well as a wide shot of the presenter and the guest which makes it more visually engaging for the audience.  Another skill I got to improve was my Production Assistant skills. I was able to keep the presenter on track and help them by telling them the timings and scores for the games and different sections of the show. For example at 15:21 I was able to tell the presenter to keep talking and ignore the sound that was meant to come because we didn’t have it on the day. This was useful because it meant the presenter could carry on with the show without making an awkward silence that would be uncomfortable for the audience to watch.

These skills will help me with future projects and with my career because being able to work effectively in a team is key to all productions. I believe this production has shown me the importance of having a good team around you who are all collaborative and willing to put effort into the production. 

My main areas of improvement are teamwork and dedication. My teamwork skills weren’t as good as they could have been for this project. As I wasn’t very interested in the subject, I took a backseat role in the team as I thought that the most involved people should be the most interested in the subject. However this meant I didn’t contribute as much as I could have which would have improved some areas of the final show. In order to improve in this area I will make sure that in all future projects I dedicate myself to them fully and help to the best of my ability to ensure that the product is to a standard I can be proud of.

Leave a comment