Audience research and ideas development

Audience Research

For my primary research I made a questionnaire and sent it out to people within the age range I am researching (16-24). I used this to find out what kind of magazine shows they watch and what they like to be included in content.

From this question I found out that the type of magazine shows that people ages 16-24 like the most are ones with laddy banter, has multiple hosts and likes to have fun.

This question shows me that young people aged 16-24 aren’t very likely to watch a new magazine shoe meaning that in order to get their attention I will have to make my show relatable to them and more like the content they watch most often.

This shows me that people aged 16-24 care about a variety of subjects, but the subject they care about the most is climate change. I will reflect this in my show by having the topic be versatile and have it as an open space to discuss multiple topics.

This shows me that young people prefer the use of casual language, this means that in my show I will have the presenters using casual language and slang to make the audience feel more comfortable.

This shows me that overall people aged 16-24 believe that people their age are more social conscious than other age groups. Because of this I will make sure my presenters are in the age range and socially conscious, so that the audience can see themselves in them.

These results are varied which shows me most young people in the age range dont know alot about magazine shows and are conflicted about whether they are missing anything. This will be reflected in my show by keeping the main format of a magazine show whilst also being open to experimenting and trying new things.

This shows me that some of the people aged 16-24 feel that magazine shows could be pushing themselves more to reach more diverse audiences.

This question shows me that people aged 16-24 respond best to brands that are well designed, good quality and ethical. I will reflect this in my show by having the brand of the show reflect this.

This shows me that most people in the age range watch youtube or films the most. The effect this has on my show is that I’m going to have to make sure that my show has the feel of a more refined youtube show and that it is cinegraphic and with a storyline like a good film.

Pitch:

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1nHMpKL18y45qi-_n-IG7RZb2NtT9bE1P0SzuxzNZDCo/edit?usp=sharing

Leave a comment