Pitch and Proposal – 9.1.2

Rationale (150 words):

In this section write about why your film should be made. Is there a gap in the market for a film like this one? Is there a current social issue or concern that it deals with or will the film offer you some specific opportunities to develop as a filmmaker?

My film will give me the chance to develop my skills in camerawork, sound and lighting. For example, before this I haven’t used many moving shots but I would like to use them in this film to create more tension. Also I haven’t used lighting before, I would like to experiment using it to create an unnatural and frightening feeling. Although I have made a soundscape before, I’ve never created one for horror, so I will be able to use new techniques to create an appropriate and effective soundscape for this.  My film will fill a gap in the market because female led horror films are less common despite them being well received and rated highly. For example films like Midsommar, The Fear Street Trilogy and Bird Box are all female led and they are very popular amongst the audience and the critics. However a higher percentage of Horror films leading characters are male. Also by having a female led horror where she doesn’t die whilst or just after having sex will be refreshing to see. 

Project concept (200 words):

In this section write the story of your film, who are the characters, what happens to them and where is it set? Then think about any specific ideas you have for how the film will look, lighting styles, editing styles etc.

Remember that a proposal is supposed to be a persuasive document so make your film idea sound good

The characters in my film are a girl and a demon girl. The storyline is that the girl is walking down a corridor late at night, she checks a door is locked and keeps walking then she hears the door open and close behind her, she slowly turns around but can’t see anything, then she hears something behind her again so she turns and this keeps happening getting quicker each time then the last time she turns the demon is right in front of her so she runs. The footsteps stop behind her so she looks back and there’s nothing there she turns back and the demon jumps on her and it cuts to black. Then the final scene is a wide shot from a high angle of the girl lying on the floor with the demon feasting on the neck with a big pool of blood surrounding her.The main shot of my film will be a POV shot of spinning around looking down the corridors with cuts to a closeup shot of the girl’s face as she looks around looking more and more panicked. My film will be handheld because it will make the audience feel like they are in the scene so will be scarier. 






Leave a comment